Club History

Wasabi Paddling Club was founded in 1993.  It is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization dedicated to the participation in, and promotion of, the national and international amateur sports of Dragon Boat and Outrigger Canoe racing. Our club has remained true to its goal of developing strong, competitive teams through mentoring and top-level coaching.  Our coaches are recognized both at the local and at the national level as some of the best in the world.  As a member of the Portland Boathouse, Wasabi is a part of the new effort to provide a long-term location for non-motorized watersport in the Portland area.  Our members are active community members spearheading fundraisers and contributing time to various community efforts.


Board of Directors


  1. Nigel Arkell (GMM, TideRunners) - nominated 2017
  2. James Dryden (Kraken) - nominated 2018
  3. Sue Fenger (WP) - nominated 2018
  4. Lori Laws ( WP) - nominated 2016
  5. Adrienne Lattin (VIP) -  nominated 2018
  6. Cary Morris (Burn) nominated 2017
  7. Nancy Thomas (WP) - nominated 2018
  8. Karen Stolzburg (WP) - nominated 2018
  9. Vacant position - nomination period 2018-2020
  • Larry LaMarsh, Board Member Emeritus (non-voting)

Club Officers


  • Club President - Kaspar Murer (GMM) appointed 2017
  • Club Vice-President - Janet Aldana (OC, WP) appointed 2018
  • Immediate Past President - Alan Mitchell (GMM, OC)
  • Club Secretary - Laura Freeman (SOAR) appointed 2016 -
  • Club Treasurer - Gretchen Brown (SOAR)
  • Assistant Treasurer - Joanna Haney (GMM) appointed 2016


  • Safety Officer - Larry LaMarsh (GMM, Tide Runners)
  • Dragon Boat Coach Coordinator - Cindy Hickman (WP)
  • Outrigger Canoe Coach Coordinator - Kate Kaufmann (WP, OC)
  • Manager Coordinator - position vacant

Committee Chairs and Volunteers

  • Community Outreach – (vacant)
  • Maintenance Co-Chairs - Lori Laws (WP), and Nigel Arkell (GMM, TideRunners)
  • Recruitment – Ingrid Olson (GMM)
  • Regatta Sport Uniform Jerseys - Carolyn Stewart (WP)
  • Wasabi Wear– Janet Aldana (WP)
  • Social Media/Facebook - Heidi Hess (WP)
  • Website Administrator - Laura Freeman (SOAR)
  • TeamSNAP User Expert - Laura Freeman (SOAR), and Brandon Osborn (VIP)
  • Boathouse Board Members - Chris Burkhart (GMM), Kaspar Murer (GMM)
GMM at night

Association Representatives

  • Chris Burkhart - Treasurer, Portland Boathouse
  • Connie Flesuras - First Vice President, USDBF
  • Heidi Hess - PDBA Board Member, USDBF committee assistance
  • Carol Hoekstra - Team USA Senior A Head Coach, USDBF
  • Alan Mitchell - USDBF, PDBA committee assistance
  • Kaspar Murer - Board of Directors Member, Portland Boathouse
  • Kathy Skinner - Past President, PDBA; Current Board of Director Member, USDBA
  • Ben Trask - USDBF, PDBA commitee assistance
P1060576 (1280x854)
P1060578 (1280x948)